The 22nd Art Directors Guild Awards

The 22nd Art Directors Guild Awards

The Art Director’s Guild Awards were presented this past Saturday. Blade Runner 2049, Logan, The Shape of Water, and Coco were the big winners in the film categories, with Game of Thrones, The Handmaid’s Tale, Black Mirror, and Will & Grace winning the television categories.

This was the first year that the ADG had an animation category and received praised for its inclusion from many in the animation community, including Ron Clements and John Musker, who received the William Cameron Menzies Award. Clements and Musker were recognized for their past work on films such as The Little Mermaid and for their most recent film Moana. Other special awards handed out included the Cinematic Imagery Award to Kathleen Kennedy, Outstanding Creative Achievement Award to Michael Baugh, and the Leadership Award to the guild president Matthew D. Loeb. Norm Newberry, James Murikami, John Moffitt, and Martin Kline were given Lifetime Achievement Awards. Sir Ken Adam and Tyrus Wong were inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame.

In the past few years, the ADG have been a good indicator of who will go on to win the Oscar for Production Design. Last year La La Land won in the contemporary film category before taking home the Oscar. This year, Blade Runner 2049 and The Shape of Water, both ADG winners, are also nominated for the Production Design Oscar along with Beauty and the Beast, Darkest Hour, and Dunkirk. It will be interesting to see if one of the ADG winners take it again this year or if one of the other three walk away with a surprise win.

Check out the full list of winners below!

Film Categories

Period Feature Film:

Sarah Greenwood, Darkest Hour

Nathan Crowley, Dunkirk

Jim Clay, Murder on the Orient Express

Rick Carter, The Post

Paul Denham Austerberry, The Shape of Water – WINNER


Fantasy Feature Film:

Sarah Greenwood, Beauty and the Beast

Dennis Gassner, Blade Runner 2049 – WINNER

Rick Heinrichs, Star Wars: The Last Jedi

James Chinlund, War for the Planet of the Apes

Aline Bonetto, Wonder Woman


Contemporary Feature Film:

Stefania Cella, Downsizing

Rusty Smith, Get Out

Chris Jones, Lady Bird

Francois Audouy, Logan – WINNER

Inbal Weinberg, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


Animated Feature Film:

William Cone and Jay Shuster, Cars 3

Harley Jessup, Coco – WINNER

Olivier Adam, Despicable Me 3

Grant Freckelton, The Lego Batman Movie

Matthew Button, Loving Vincent

Television Categories

One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series:

Bo Welch, A Series of Unfortunate Events

Martin Childs, The Crown

Deborach Riley, Game of Thrones – WINNER

Steve Arnold, Mindhunter

Chris Trujillo, Stranger Things


One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series:

Patti Podesta, American Gods

Julie Berghoff, The Handmaid’s Tale – WINNER

Andrew Stearn, The Handmaid’s Tale

Anastasia White, Mr. Robot

Ruth De Jong, Twin Peaks


Television Movie or Limited Series:

Jeff Mossa, American Horror Story: Cult

John Paino, Big Little Lies

Joel Collins, Black Mirror – WINNER

Elisabeth Williams, Fargo

Judy Becker, Feud: Bette and Joan


Half Hour Single-Camera Series:

Jessica Kender, Future Man

Todd Fjelsted, GLOW – WINNER

Amy Williams, Master of None

Richard Toyon, Silicon Valley

Jim Gloster, Veep


Multi-Camera Series:

Stephan Olson, 9JKL

John Shaffner, The Big Bang Theory

John Shaffner, The Ranch

Stephan Olson, Superior Donuts

Glenda Rovello, Will & Grace – WINNER


Short Format: Web Series, Music Video, or Commercial:

James Chinlund, Apple: “Bulbs”

Shane Valention, Chanel: “Gabrielle”

Natalie Groce, Katy Perry: “Bon Appetit”

Ruth De Jong, Nike: “Equality”

Jason Edmonds, Star Wars Battlefront II: “Rivalry/PS4” – WINNER


Variety or Competition Series/Awards or Event Special:

James Pearse Connelly, Bill Nye Saves the World

Brian Stonestreet, Golden Globes Awards: “74th Annual”

Schuyler Telleen, Portlandia – WINNER

Keith Ian Raywood, Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, and N. Joseph DeTullio, Saturday Night Live

Bruce Rodgers, Superbowl Halftime Show: “Starring Lady Gaga”